Christmas baking

As Christmas is just around the corner, my thoughts are turning to what delicious treats me and my little girl can make in the kitchen.  Although she doesn’t fully understand the concept of baking and insists on decorating the kitchen with half of my ingredients I still have so much fun that I cannot resist seeing her flour smudged face and buttery fingers after out exploits.

One recipe I use again and again to make biscuits is a fridge biscuit recipe which consists of:
100g/half cup of butter
100g/half cup of caster sugar
225g/2 cups of plain flour
5ml/1 tsp baking powder
1 egg (beaten)
5ml/1 tsp vanilla essence.

Mix all the ingredients in a bowl to form a stiff dough.  Shape into a roll, wrap in greaseproof paper and chill for up to two weeks or until ready to bake.
Cut into 5mm slices and bake in the oven 190c/375f/gas mark 5 for 10-12 minutes until golden brown.  Cool and enjoy.

The beauty of this recipe is that you can bake half and save half for later use because if you have someone in your house that is like my husband, bake them all at once and half are gone before you even take them off the cooling rack.

I have in the past made batches of these and instead of making it into a roll, I have rolled the mixture out and used a range of cookie cutters to create Christmas biscuits.  Put them in a jar with a recipe label so they can make their own if they enjoy them and give them as a gift for Christmas.

There is no limit to the recipe.  My daughter and I have made ginger biscuits (just add 2 tbsp/30ml ground ginger) and almond biscuits (substitute the vanilla for almond essence and add some ground almonds to taste) cinnamon and raisin (substitute some plain flour for rolled oats and add cinnamon and raisins to taste).

This year I will be using mixed spice and maybe some apple pieces.  I love how these can be as festive or plain as you like and I never get bored of experimenting! Hope you have so much fun baking this month as we do!

Leave a Reply

