Inspiration

Like many people who create I have been suffering from a bit of a creative draught recently.  Maybe it was a reaction to being so busy before Christmas, maybe it was artists block or plain old self imposed pressure but whatever was responsible, it was truly annoying.  Here I was, having set the wheels in motion for the Dollies Daydream website and I was devoid of all inspiration.

My inspiration before has always struck right before falling to sleep and there I would be scaring my husband half to death, running around yelling I needed paper and a pen.  I had been hoping for these moments to come again, dreaming of them in fact.

Then just when I’d given up hope I was coming home from my first day back at work today: tired, dealing with a headache and attempting to navigate my way through wind, rain and traffic when suddenly inspiration struck.

taken from http://findreallove.wordpress.com/2010/11/18/believe-and-trust-do-you/

The flood gates opened and snippets of conversations, images and experiences came together and culminated in an idea for new work.  So here I am, inspired by my childhood, of magic, of fairies and the elementals to create new pieces of work for Dollies Daydream.

I am excited, relieved and curious to see where these ideas take me.  I am also left wondering when inspiration will choose to strike again!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

