Fairy inspired work

Well, a few weeks ago, I began to play around with ideas inspired by the natural world, elementals and fairy world.  I wanted to bring a bit of magic into my work and while it has been a labour of love and not always plain sailing, I have created my first prototype.

I began with a woodland colourscheme – greens and browns and started by binding the haircomb with double satin deep green ribbon.

The comb is neat and in truth I could have left it unbound but I just felt it would finish the comb off and would help hide the stitching when I attached the embellishment.

I wanted to create something inspired by the magic of childhood, that evokes images of fairies and elementals.  I wanted to incorporate different materials found in the natural world – I began thinking about leaves, feathers, bone, wood….anything you would imagine being used as fairy clothing and jewelry 🙂

During my initial sketches I found that the deep colours and crisp, distinctive shape of the ivy leaf kept featuring heavily in my ideas.  With the texture and detail provided by hand stitching and glass beading, I wanted these leaves to be the main feature of the first project piece.

After a rummage in my box of treasures, I found other beads that would compliment the piece bringing in wood and the white beads reminding me of mistletoe berries. 

Despite my best sketches, I found that once I sat down with my ideas, the materials determined the finished piece and took on a life of their own.  As they always do, materials I picked up on a whim and have sat at the back of a drawer or bottom of a box have come into their own and shown me the reason I bought them!

The final thing to do was to cover the stitching on the back and mount it onto the comb. 

Add caption
Oh and take some pretty photos to allow it to make its public debut.  Work is now in motion to create other ideas for this collection including hairslides and grips so watch this space….   

Leave a Reply

