Life is what happens when you’re busy making plans

I’m sure you are all familiar with this quote. I’ve certainly read it and smiled to myself. Today, I look at it and it really resonates with me. 

Today, I became an Aunty. We welcomed the arrival of a little girl who wasn’t expected until May. Once again, life has reminded me that while we may have expectations and ideas about the future, we never know what’s round the corner. 
I don’t know about you but I am a person who likes to know what’s happening and what to expect. I’m not a fan of uncertainty. I’m not a fan of the unknown.   Looking back, I have softened slightly and become more flexible, possibly as a result of maturity and life experience but also I think because of my own children; their spontaneity, unpredictability and energy. 
I have grown, but I have also accepted that I may never fully erase this characteristic. What I am learning to do is live with it. 
In the past, this inability to deal with uncertainty has forced me to react. I admit some of these reactions have worked out, most of the time however, they have not. What I’m learning is if I ‘go with the flow’ and deal with life as it unfolds rather than trying to control things, life can present some amazing surprises I could never have imagined. Similarly, it can present me with challenges that encourage me to grow, change and learn.
We make plans and while I struggle with uncertainty, I realise I don’t want to fight  it anymore. I don’t want to live with the illusion that I can control life (wow – when I read that I’m hit by how unreasonable and crazy that belief is) I want to accept life and experience the highs and lows it brings. 
So, how will I cope with the moments when I can’t deal with life’s twists and turns? 
Maybe I’ll write a blog, listen to some good music, read a book or create something. Maybe I will play even more with my children or go for a walk. If things get really bad, I will do the best I can and take things one day/hour/minute at a time. 
Working towards a more balanced and sane me…. 
Until next time, 
Toni xx  
Leave a Reply

