Upcycling

A while ago, I gave myself the challenge of upcycling instead of buying. Since I made that promise to myself, I’ve made cards, painted some old Christmas tins for new storage and made a lovely frame for displaying and photographing my work.

You may remember a few weeks back that I bought a rather hideous picture from a local charity shop for the bargain price of £3.

20140315-122010.jpg

I set about discarding the picture and back and re painted the frame. The original plan was to paint it grey then white and sand areas but I fell in love with the grey.

While I was telling my brother about my plans, he informed me that there might have some white boards left over from mums kitchen in her garage which happened to be the correct size….don’t you just love it when things fall into place like that 🙂

20140315-122319.jpg

I’m rather pleased with how it has turned out. I also found a left over white kitchen panel in our garage which helps me photograph my other projects.

When we have something to frame, I’m sure, like me, many people think of Ikea, hobbycraft or buying online. For me now, my first thought is to scour Charity shops or car boot sales. It’s true they might need a bit of love like mine but they are often better quality.

20140315-141802.jpg

Here is the finished item! I can’t take credit for the idea of upcycling old frames – my husband does this when he needs to frame his art work but it is very rare that I buy frames from mainstream shops these days.

What have you upcycled recently? What do you search local charity shops for?

Until next time,

Toni xx

Leave a Reply

