Sewing to stay sane!

20140328-192914.jpg

What do we do when life throws us a curveball? What do you turn to as your day to day life is thrown upside down?

For me, it’s my creativity. My creativity has changed over the years. In times of uncertainty I have been known to write the odd poem, to draw, to garden and to bake (not the best escape for the waistline but the preferred one according to my family!) These days, I prefer to sew.

To be honest, when I think about it, I’m not sure why this is my preferred go-to when I need to de-stress. I still love all of the above. Then again, maybe I don’t need to question it – I just need to go with it.

I am entering the fourth week of Labyrinthitis and I can honestly say, I would have gone crazy without being able to do some sewing. There have been times when I have been desperate to sew but I have not been physically capable. Those have been the hardest times.

So when I have been able to see straight or been able to concentrate for more than 20 minutes I have picked up a needle and thread. I have lost myself in the rhythmic sewing and let go of my worries. I have counted cross stitches and ignored my fears. It has been my saviour. It has made being stuck inside somewhat bearable.

20140328-193157.jpg

New wreath complete with sparkly bits – inspired by some of the colour palettes I’ve been looking at on Pinterest!

As well as a bit of cross stitch, I have also been working on some bunting for Dollies….

20140328-193616.jpg

Yes I’m still working on this 🙂

I have also created a new Hungry Caterpillar wall hanging I wanted to show you.

20140328-193209.jpg 20140328-193221.jpg

I was inspired to make this when I saw the spotty fabric on a website one day. I’ve been experimenting with a few ideas for this before I became ill but now I’ve slowly created a piece I’m happy with. I would love to hear what you think of it!

There are many downsides to being poorly and not being able to drive but I’m so happy I’ve had these projects to keep me going half an hour at a time and has definitely held me together.

What keeps you sane in stressful times? What do you do that allows you to forget your troubles?

Until next time,

Toni xx

Leave a Reply

