The road less travelled…

Well here it is.  Now I have handed this over to the lovely woman who commissioned it I can share photos of my labour of love.

When I was first asked to create a fascinator my first reaction was to jump at the opportunity.  Working with a festive colour palette and a ‘firework’ theme ideas were jumping around my head.  

After I’d had chance to think however, in the cold light of day I was walking round like a crazy person saying “What have I done?”.  Here I was on the beginning of my crafting journey, I had just unleashed Dollies Daydream on the unsuspecting public and here I was agreeing to undertake something brand new – a world away from my brooches and hair accessories!

After hours of drawing, researching and playing around with different ideas, the fascinator slowly came to life.  Aiming for catherine wheel meets floral bouquet I finally found something I loved.  I don’t think I have ever created something I became so attached to.

Today I handed over my creation and I realised that this is why I do what I do.  I have made a little peice of my imagination into reality.  Its a wonderful feeling.  I could have played it safe and declined the request to do something that was so far out of my comfort zone but I am so glad I didn’t.  Now I am looking for my next project to challenge me….any ideas??

Happy crafting 🙂

Leave a comment